Yukon student wins BMO 1st Art!

Shizuka Yoshimura, a student at the Yukon School of Visual Arts in Dawson City, is the National BMO 1st Art Winner! competition.

Yoshimura, who wins $15,000, won for Transitional shinea sculptural installation made of wood, hemp ropes, metal and glass containers.

The competition celebrates the creativity of art school students graduating from post-secondary institutions across Canada.

Eleven regional winners each receive $7,500. They are:

  • Kaela Murphy, University of Lethbridge, Alberta
  • Ali Cayetano, University of British Columbia
  • Solange Roy, University of Manitoba
  • Oakley Rain Wysote Grey, New Brunswick College of Craft and Design
  • Georgia Dawkin, Grenfell Campus, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • Ivan Flores, NSCAD University, Nova Scotia
  • Collin Alexander, University of Toronto, Ontario
  • Chris Bailey, Holland College, Prince Edward Island
  • Avery Mikolic-O’Rourke, Concordia University, Quebec
  • Aurora Wolfe, University of Saskatchewan
  • Sabrina Jin, Yukon School of Visual Arts

A total of 345 graduate students were recommended by deans and instructors from 110 undergraduate arts programs across the country.

The competition considers a range of work, including time-based media such as video, film, audio and computer technologies, as well as drawing, printmaking, photography, painting, sculpture, glass, ceramics, textiles, mixed media and installation work.

After two years of virtual events, the competition is moving to an in-person exhibition of the 12 winners, complete with online material, at the University of Toronto Art Museum from October 26 to November 19.

“This year, we are thrilled to welcome everyone back to the gallery to view these extraordinary works of art,” said Dawn Cain, Curator of BMO’s Fine Art Collection. “Since the first exposure in 2003, BMO 1st The art has been a showcase of unique projects from outstanding undergraduate students across Canada. The level of talent this competition attracts involves tough decisions for our judges.”

The winners were chosen by a committee consisting of Emily Falencki, artist and educator from Nova Scotia; Sequoia Miller, chief curator of the Gardiner Museum of Ceramic Art in Toronto; Michelle Jacques, chief curator of Remai Modern in Saskatoon; and Anne-Marie St-Jean Aubre, curator of contemporary art at the Musée d’art de Joliette in Quebec.

Source: BMO 1st Art!

Mildred D. Field